Negligent Neurosurgeons ~ Dr. Death

Those of you who have been reading My Unplanned Life know how I feel about negligent doctors. You also know it has taken me a long time to accept my spinal cord injury and forgive the lying neurosurgeon who dramatically changed my life. Needless to say, when a friend sent me an article about a neurosurgeon in Plano, Texas, who is being sued, I was quickly taken back to my own personal experience.

The article explains how Dr. Christopher Duntsch (Dr. Death) with Baylor Regional Medical Center botched spinal treatments and surgeries and only after a patient died did the hospital begin to look into his troubled past. Years earlier, Dr. Duntsch was asked to resign from a Dallas hospital due to the fact he was “an egomaniac, mentally ill, an alcoholic, drug addict or a combination thereof.” Despite knowing this information, Baylor Plano hired Dr. Duntsch with a $50,000+ a month salary. Soon after, Dr. Duntsch was caught several times using drugs prior to operating, but it was never reported. Sadly, Dr. Duntsch’s list of negligent surgeries (the total is now up to 38 incidents), drug and alcohol use are still surfacing. Last year, a medical board spokeswoman characterized Dr. Duntsch’s case as one of the most “egregious” ever in Texas involving a neurosurgeon. Lawsuits have been filed against Dr. Duntsch and Baylor Health Care System.

Dr. Duntsch should have never been hired by Baylor or any other hospital. And, why wasn’t an investigation done once Dr. Duntsch began making mistakes? It seems medical institutions will only take action when lawsuits are filed or someone dies. Isn’t it time for doctors, as well as hospitals, to be held accountable for mistakes and when they hire and promote those who are unfit? Until this takes place (and it’s unlikely it ever will), those considering surgery or any other medical procedure MUST research/investigate physicians and hospitals. Patient reviews on most doctors may be found at http://www.vitals.com and http://www.heathgrades.com, or by simply typing in the name of the doctor or medical facility.

My heart is extremely heavy for the patients and families who trusted Dr. Duntsch and Baylor Health Care System. However, now that their story is being told, I pray they are a step closer in the healing process.

Please click on the link for more updated information on Dr. Duntsch (as of September 15, 2015): http://www.naturalnews.com/051173_Neurosurgeon_Dallas_Duntsch.html

Update: More recently, Peacock network has a series entitled Dr. Death revealing the tragic actions of Dr. Duntsch. The series is difficult to watch but a must see for anyone considering surgery. It just reinforces the need to review any and all physicians in-depth, talk to other patients and medical staff as well as get second opinions.

©My Unplanned Life and http://www.shakinguplife.wordpress.com, 2021.

About mswd

I am an individual living with a spinal cord injury. How the injury occurred, how I found out how severe my injury was and how my planned life suddenly became 'unplanned' is included in this blog. Also included is how the injury has tested my family and me. I believe you will discover it has been both a mentally and physically challenging ordeal and I learned a few lessons along the way. While I am still defining my life’s purpose since the injury, I have uncovered those who are injured, live with pain or have other obstacles to navigate are never able to escape. However, come with me as I explore ways to improve my life, learn to live with multiple neurological conditions, educate others and look for the silver lining. I believe with a little willpower, my caring family and God's guidance I will learn to forgive, hopefully forget how I was treated and dismissed by a doctor and uncover life's new purpose. I pray for painfree days and answers to questions that keep swirling through my mind. I also pray for a cure for neurological conditions and for the doctors to treat their patients with respect. Welcome to my journey. I would love to hear about yours!
This entry was posted in Dr. Christopher Duntsch, Dr. Death, Dr. Liar, Spinal Cord Injury and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Negligent Neurosurgeons ~ Dr. Death

  1. What a horrific story. There really is no excuse for this on the hospital’s part to have allowed this to happen, or to continue.

    • mswd says:

      You are so right. I am keeping an eye on the developments of this story and all I can do is shake my head in disbelief. This neurosurgeon should have been stopped years ago. It’s upsetting, but at the same time, it saddens me. Thank you for reading the post and for your comment! I am so behind in reading you blog, but will catch up…promise! 🙂

  2. Gina says:

    Sickening.

    • mswd says:

      Gina ~ perfect word to describe this situation. I knew you would find this post interesting and depressing. I can’t believe it wasn’t national news. That was one reason I had to write about it…to spread the world about this horrible man and the lack of action taken by the hospital. I will keep you posted! Thank you for reading and commenting!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Forgive me but name and email address has to remain anonymous because I’m one of the victims of this satanic doctor. There are no words to express the disability and agonizing constant pain due to the damage Duntsch did to my spinal cord. Here are a couple of updated links for you. Some are justifying these acts by doctors calling it stress related. There are people who work in extreme temperatures for minimum wage in construction and other industries 80 plus hours per week and they don’t drink alcohol or use drugs.
    https://tv.yahoo.com/video/dallas-surgeon-stoned-maimed-patients-000745056-cbs.html
    http://m.today.com/news/your-doctor-stoned-physicians-substance-abuse-problems-continue-work-1D79801891

    • mswd says:

      Dear Anonymous ~ thank you so much for reaching out to me!!! I understand completely about not being able to use your name or contact info. It amazes me that we are the victims, but we have to follow certain guidelines or restrictions. The shocking thing is we weren’t the ones who did anything wrong! We went to see neurosurgeons who were negligent and are left with life-alerting injuries and have to suffer in silence. I am so sorry about your spinal cord injury. I understand completely what this injury does to your body and to your entire life. No one can prepare you for this type of injustice and the way it turns your life upside down and inside out. And, while they cast aside the victims, the doctor, hospital and their legal teams are going to look for any excuse to justify what Dr. Duntsch did – all for the mighty dollar. I write extensively in the blog about my lawsuit, but I didn’t write about everything. I would be more than happy to share with you anything you would like to know. It has been nine years since my injury, but it feels as if it was just yesterday. I wish I could tell you why all of this occurred. I am still looking for the answer myself. It’s a daily battle. Please know you are in my thoughts and prayers. Maybe some of the posts in my blog will be helpful. But more importantly, please know you are not alone.

      If you would like to reach me personally, feel free to send another message with your email or find me on Facebook (My Unplanned Life). As far as a WordPress message, I won’t approve it, which means I am the only one who sees it. I will then immediately delete the message.

      Again, it breaks my heart that you are going through this horrible ordeal. I hope to hear from you, but if not, I will be watching closely to see the outcome of this crime.

    • mswd says:

      I have been watching Dr. Death on Peacock and I am sick about what I have been seeing…and what took place behind the scenes. I would love to hear from you if you are able to reach out to me. Thank you!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.