Waking up in my Shaking Up World

I have a story to tell. Not because I have to; and truthfully, not because I want to. The story I am sharing needs to be told so I can heal and get on with the new life I have been given. I need to find the joy in my life again. I feel as if I don’t tell my story I am somehow being untrue to myself and to others who may experience a situation similar to mine.
Someone once said, “Life is what’s happening when you are busy making other plans.” I know they are lyrics in a John Lennon song, and I always believed it was a true statement. However, what I didn’t know was during 2005 my life would turn upside down like never before. In fact, years later, my head is still spinning from the effects of it all. All that occurred during the past five years had shaken me to the core and had me questioning all aspects of my life.
Was I really going to tell my story? Was I prepared to write a book? Writing, which was my career, is, after all, about honesty, and recreating those feelings for the readers made recreating them for me as well. Writing the book would force me to remember – and re-experience — things I would rather not think about. Did anyone care about me or my thoughts? Was I ready to tell my story? Could I tell it? I thought so, but life’s lessons don’t come easy.
As I thought of filling an entire book I got more and more anxious. Friends who I have known for years began to blog and enjoyed it. I thought that if I were to blog about my experience would be the first step to sharing my story. As I begin this new adventure, I hope that it may help others when they find their life shaking up with or without your permission. You will be able to get a little or a lot of information depending on what is going on in your life.
Thank you for reading and I look forward to hearing from you!
©My Unplanned Life and www.shakinguplife.wordpress.com 2011.
 
 
 

 

About mswd

I am an individual living with a spinal cord injury. How the injury occurred, how I found out how severe my injury was and how my planned life suddenly became 'unplanned' is included in this blog. Also included is how the injury has tested my family and me. I believe you will discover it has been both a mentally and physically challenging ordeal and I learned a few lessons along the way. While I am still defining my life’s purpose since the injury, I have uncovered those who are injured, live with pain or have other obstacles to navigate are never able to escape. However, come with me as I explore ways to improve my life, learn to live with multiple neurological conditions, educate others and look for the silver lining. I believe with a little willpower, my caring family and God's guidance I will learn to forgive, hopefully forget how I was treated and dismissed by a doctor and uncover life's new purpose. I pray for painfree days and answers to questions that keep swirling through my mind. I also pray for a cure for neurological conditions and for the doctors to treat their patients with respect. Welcome to my journey. I would love to hear about yours!
This entry was posted in Self Discovery, Spinal Cord Injury and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Waking up in my Shaking Up World

  1. Lisa says:

    Blogging to help others is a wonderful idea. If it’s cathartic although difficult, along the way, the idea to do so is part of a bigger plan. Although my spine is fine, I just learned my knees are becoming “shot” and that surely isn’t part of my plan~ and I’m actually a little more than annoyed that my body is trying to betray me! ….so your blog will help me great deal, I’m sure.
    You are gifted by God to write, my dear, so use that gift!

    • mswd says:

      Lisa ~ you have been an inspiritation to me since the first day we met. I think of you and Jack and all the great laughs we had along the way. I so appreciate all that you have done for me, Hilary, Shanna and your constant friendship. Even though we don’t see each other often, you and the family are in my thoughts and prayers. I thank you for your nice message. I am committed to seeing this blog through and some of the words in the title and the web address will begin to make sense. It has been a rough road and yes, it does feel as if your body is betraying you, I have learned to focus on the positive of any aliment (although as you read the blog, you will see that this new attitude didn’t come easy! Hugs to you, Jack, the boys and pets. I miss you dear friend.

  2. Angela Caban says:

    Marsha,

    I love the idea of blogging, as you know how much I LOVE writing. You have a wonderful talent, and I am pleased to be able to follow you on this journey. 🙂

    • mswd says:

      Angela ~ thank you for your kind words! It is nice to have another friend who loves to write. Please share any tips or comments! From one writer to another…lots of love!

  3. Deborah Halbfoster says:

    Marsha, I have such wonderful memories from the time that we worked together and now look forward to hearing about you and your life (both the good and the bad) since that time. I am so happy to have reconnected with you and now look forward to reading (your writing remains your art) all about your experience, past, present and the road to the future. I look forward to tagging along and getting to know you all over again.

    • mswd says:

      Deb~we sure had some great times…didn’t we? Lots of laughs and long talks. Thank you for your ongoing support then and now as I spill my story on the pages of the blog! I am blessed to have so many angels in my life. Please keep me posted on Y O U! Miss you!

  4. Daryl Z says:

    Marsha, you know my heart goes out to you. I feel as though I was by your side throughout this journey. We sure do miss you. As your neighbor for the last 15 years, reading the section in your blog about moving here all those years ago, it is hard to believe the things we went through as neighbors. It was ALWAYS a warm feeling to know that you were next door to help when needed! I know you are happy to be back “home”, and I am very happy for you. I look forward to following … “the rest of the story.” Love to all of you….

  5. mswd says:

    Daryl ~ thank you so much for your kind message. You, Dena, Brandon and Ashley are four of the nicest people I have ever known and we miss you so much! Thank you for all that you did during the more challenging times and for always been there for all of us! Thank you for taking the time to read the blog…it is hearing from people that keeps me writing and re-living the ordeal. Love to all of you and please keep in touch! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

