Finding Joy While Living with a Chronic Condition

For those of us suffering with a chronic medical condition or illness, the following post from The Mighty is a must read. The post discusses the challenges of living a ‘normal’ life when sick or in pain and trying to rise above it to find joy…even if it is for a short period of time. Those who deal with daily chronic conditions are constantly told by our doctors and shrinks that the worst thing we can do is to stay home and do nothing. Many of us learn the hard way that by doing nothing we contribute to the very symptoms we battle causing more pain, depression and worthlessness. For me, I found I was just existing and not living my life and knew I had to find a balance. It has taken me 11+ years to find what works for me ~ a plan allowing me to manage my spinal cord injury so that it doesn’t manage me. Included in my plan is a lot of daily hard work both physical and mental and looking for joy wherever I can. As the post explains, I, too, have received my share of negative comments about ‘not looking sick enough.’ However, I don’t let it bother me since there is no way everyone could possibly understand what I cope with on a daily basis. I have learned no matter what someone is going through, you truly don’t know until you have walked in their shoes. Here’s hoping for a world where we think before we speak, we have compassion for others even when we don’t know their situation and we help to lift each other up. Thank you The Mighty for taking the time to share your thoughts and for allowing me to share it with others.

https://themighty.com/2016/08/why-i-wont-apologize-for-having-fun-while-sick/

About mswd

I am an individual living with a spinal cord injury. How the injury occurred, how I found out how severe my injury was and how my planned life suddenly became 'unplanned' is included in this blog. Also included is how the injury has tested my family and me. I believe you will discover it has been both a mentally and physically challenging ordeal and I learned a few lessons along the way. While I am still defining my life’s purpose since the injury, I have uncovered those who are injured, live with pain or have other obstacles to navigate are never able to escape. However, come with me as I explore ways to improve my life, learn to live with multiple neurological conditions, educate others and look for the silver lining. I believe with a little willpower, my caring family and God's guidance I will learn to forgive, hopefully forget how I was treated and dismissed by a doctor and uncover life's new purpose. I pray for painfree days and answers to questions that keep swirling through my mind. I also pray for a cure for neurological conditions and for the doctors to treat their patients with respect. Welcome to my journey. I would love to hear about yours!
This entry was posted in Depression, Disability, Don't Give Up, Dr. Liar, Finding the joy, Pain, Pain Management, Self Discovery, Spinal Cord Injury and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Finding Joy While Living with a Chronic Condition

  1. Judith Rich wine says:

    Good to hear from you. Amazing how our own situations help us look at things differently. J

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • mswd says:

      Thank you so much Judy. You are so right! I miss you friend. Will send an email to see how you are and what’s new. Thank you for reading and for taking the time to comment!

  2. Awww I feel for you. At the end of the day so much of the suffering is internal and all that matters is you family, friends and doctors understand the extent of your condition. Sometimes other people including loved ones don’t really understand and it’s frustrating but it’s not your fault!
    *Healing & health to you…* God Bless.

    • mswd says:

      Thank you for your kind words, I really appreciate you writing and for understanding. I haven’t posted on the blog for a while and reading your comment and made me realize how I have neglected my writing…I need to get busy. Thank you again and sending you healing thoughts and blessings.

Leave a Reply

