To H., Love, M.

“Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.” ~Lao Tzu

Valentine’s Day is a special day for my husband and me especially this year since it’s our 10th wedding anniversary. For many, 10 years is not a long time for couples our age. However, based on the statistics, it’s a remarkable amount of time since 50 percent of marriages end in divorce.

We both had wonderful role models. My husband’s parents have been married for 52 years and mine 57 years. Both have shown us what it takes to keep a marriage together, raise a family and fathers with careers and mothers who were homemakers. Today, they continue to love and live the vows taken many years ago.

While my husband and I won’t celebrate such monumental anniversaries, we are thrilled to reach this double-digit occasion! And, on this special Valentine’s Day, it is my hope and prayer that my husband knows how much his love, patience and unwavering support has meant. While I know our life isn’t the one he would have selected given the chance, I admire and respect him for sticking around following my spinal cord injury. As I have written previously, I wouldn’t have blamed him if he had wanted to run. However, he didn’t and I thank God each and every day for bringing him into my life and for giving him strength, courage and the ability to go on no matter what.

While I was thinking about what to write for my Valentine’s Day post, I heard Celine Dion’s song Because You Loved Me. While I have heard the song numerous times, for some reason I really listened to the lyrics and realized what a powerful song it truly is. And, when I tried to write my own message, the song kept replaying in my head as if these were the perfect words. So, on this day when most are celebrating love (and on our 10th anniversary), I would like the words of this beautiful song to serve as a love letter to my husband since he was there for me during the times when I had lost all faith in myself.

It is my hope each of you will experience the type of love and respect I have for my husband ~ it is a blessing some people never have and one I don’t take for granted.

To H:

For all those times you stood by me
For all the truth that you made me see
For all the joy you brought to my life
For all the wrong that you made right
For every dream you made come true
For all the love I found in you
I’ll be forever thankful baby
You’re the one who held me up
Never let me fall
You’re the one who saw me through, through it all

You were my strength when I was weak
You were my voice when I couldn’t speak
You were my eyes when I couldn’t see
You saw the best there was in me
Lifted me up when I couldn’t reach
You gave me faith ’cause you believed
I’m everything I am
Because you loved me

You gave me wings and made me fly
You touched my hand I could touch the sky
I lost my faith, you gave it back to me
You said no star was out of reach
You stood by me and I stood tall
I had your love I had it all
I’m grateful for each day you gave me
Maybe I don’t know that much
But I know this much is true
I was blessed because I was loved by you

You were my strength when I was weak
You were my voice when I couldn’t speak
You were my eyes when I couldn’t see
You saw the best there was in me
Lifted me up when I couldn’t reach
You gave me faith ’cause you believed
I’m everything I am
Because you loved me

You were always there for me
The tender wind that carried me
The light in the dark shining your love into my life
You’ve been my inspiration
Through the lies you were the truth
My world is a better place because of you

You were my strength when I was weak
You were my voice when I couldn’t speak
You were my eyes when I couldn’t see
You saw the best there was in me
Lifted me up when I couldn’t reach
You gave me faith ’cause you believed
I’m everything I am
Because you loved me

Love,
M.

©My Unplanned Life and http://www.shakinguplife.wordpress.com, 2013

About mswd

I am an individual living with a spinal cord injury. How the injury occurred, how I found out how severe my injury was and how my planned life suddenly became 'unplanned' is included in this blog. Also included is how the injury has tested my family and me. I believe you will discover it has been both a mentally and physically challenging ordeal and I learned a few lessons along the way. While I am still defining my life’s purpose since the injury, I have uncovered those who are injured, live with pain or have other obstacles to navigate are never able to escape. However, come with me as I explore ways to improve my life, learn to live with multiple neurological conditions, educate others and look for the silver lining. I believe with a little willpower, my caring family and God's guidance I will learn to forgive, hopefully forget how I was treated and dismissed by a doctor and uncover life's new purpose. I pray for painfree days and answers to questions that keep swirling through my mind. I also pray for a cure for neurological conditions and for the doctors to treat their patients with respect. Welcome to my journey. I would love to hear about yours!
This entry was posted in Being Thankful, Dr. Liar, God, Self Discovery, Spinal Cord Injury and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To H., Love, M.

  1. Happy Anniversary! I get the impression that you celebrate this love every day, not just ‘this’ day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

