To Chonda, with thanks!

I have written many times about where I get my inspiration…music, books, quotes, people, messages; however, my most recent uplifting and encouraging message came from the beautiful Christian Comedian Chonda Pierce on a Friday evening in a lovely church in Virginia Beach. For three and a half hours Chonda entertained my husband, parents and a 1,000 or so other people and me with her sense of humor, beautiful singing voice, personal stories about her life and her relationship with God. While her life hasn’t been easy, she has a way of making those in the audience feel as if she can survive life’s ups and downs and get up on stage and laugh about it, the rest of us can handle whatever is thrown our way. She makes it look easy so why can’t we? Is it because she is a performer? I don’t think so. I believe she picks herself up from the obstacles because of her love for God and truly believes life’s lessons are meant for a reason. She calls herself a Comedian; however, she is that and so much more. She is a survivor with a smile, an infectious laugh and a message that inspires you to want to be a better person.

I was first introduced to Chonda’s comedy by my husband who heard her on satellite radio. He later purchased a few of her DVD’s while I was recovering from my spinal cord injury. I also read her book, Laughing in the Dark, a very candid book about her battle with depression. I immediately connected with Chonda without realizing it since I was also depressed at the time and didn’t know it. Chonda also has several CD’s and wrote songs about the lowest points in her life and how God was there when she needed him the most. Much like my life.

I had the opportunity to thank Chonda in person during intermission at the show. Always looking out for me, my husband asked if she had a couple of minutes to talk to me and with her beautiful Southern accent she said, “Why yes!” And, it was with tremendous gratitude I was able to tell Chonda how she was there for me without ever knowing it and how she ‘spoke’ to me when no one else could. In fact, she still does through her music on my iPod. A few of my favorite are Potter’s Hands, We Belong to You, Mercy Saw Me, Hold on Tighter. Heck…I should just list them all!

While at her show and laughing more than I had in a very long time, I realized several things. Laughter truly is the best medicine. I had been in a lot of pain during the past month and nothing my doctors were doing helped; however, during the three and half hours of the show I didn’t think much about my pain, my injury or Dr. Liar. Secondly, there aren’t many performers who use their platform to spread a message of love, faith and encouragement.  She could have left the Christian tour and become more popular in one where she would have been unable to talk about her personal relationship with God, Chonda remained steadfast in her life’s work and turned down offers that could have made her more popular and more money. Our tickets were only $25 per person and we were on the third row…how many people entertain for three and a half hours and charge that low of a fee?

While sitting in the audience and listening to Chonda, I thought about if she knew how many people’s life she had touched during her almost 20 year career? In fact, how many celebrities or, in fact, any of us, know what impact we have on others? Mitch Albom’s book, The Five People You Meet in Heaven, is a novel that explores this topic. It’s a terrific book, one I think about almost daily since you never know whose life you may touch and what footprint you may leave on their life. I hope through the blog my message has been one more than just about my injury and the fight to overcome it. I hope to spread the same message that Chonda Pierce does — no matter how difficult things are that God loves us, He is always by our side and we are blessed.

As I have written before, I have received so many wonderful messages from readers of the blog and how it has helped them deal with the difficulties in their life and I thank you for those messages. I am so grateful to all who have taken the time to write especially during this time of the year when we all are counting our blessings. Truly, don’t we all have so much to be thankful for?

Chonda ended her show with another one of my favorite songs. I don’t think she will mind me ending this post with lyrics from that song. I admire those who have a platform to spread God’s word and do so with respect, wisdom and knowledge. And, throwing in a bit of humor…well, that’s just icing on the cake.

God Loves You

Hope, like a flower, will push through the smallest crack in your broken heart
And out of the deep darkest night will shine the brightest burning star
Oh it’s there, like a half remembered song
The thing that you’ve forgotten
But have known all along

God loves you
And He wants you to know
He is with you
You are not alone
He will see you through
God loves you

Tears are just water and salt, but a thimble full can feel oceans wide
But trust that just one gentle breeze can sail you to the other side
Oh it’s there, like a whisper on the breeze
The truth that’s so familiar
But still hard to believe

God loves you
And He wants you to know
He is with you
You are not alone
He will see you through
God loves you

You don’t have to be anywhere near perfect
You don’t ever have to prove a thing
You are loved, you are loved
So far beyond your imagining

God loves you
And He wants you to know
He is with you
You are not alone
He will see you through
God loves you

Additional information regarding Chonda Pierce can be found on her web site at www.chonda.org.

©My Unplanned Life and www.shakinguplife.wordpress.com, 2012.

About mswd

I am an individual living with a spinal cord injury. How the injury occurred, how I found out how severe my injury was and how my planned life suddenly became 'unplanned' is included in this blog. Also included is how the injury has tested my family and me. I believe you will discover it has been both a mentally and physically challenging ordeal and I learned a few lessons along the way. While I am still defining my life’s purpose since the injury, I have uncovered those who are injured, live with pain or have other obstacles to navigate are never able to escape. However, come with me as I explore ways to improve my life, learn to live with multiple neurological conditions, educate others and look for the silver lining. I believe with a little willpower, my caring family and God's guidance I will learn to forgive, hopefully forget how I was treated and dismissed by a doctor and uncover life's new purpose. I pray for painfree days and answers to questions that keep swirling through my mind. I also pray for a cure for neurological conditions and for the doctors to treat their patients with respect. Welcome to my journey. I would love to hear about yours!
This entry was posted in Being Thankful, Depression, Disappointment, Don't Give Up, Dr. Liar, Faith, Finding the joy, God, Gratitude, Spinal Cord Injury and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to To Chonda, with thanks!

  1. What a beautiful message Marsha. Thank you for sharing it (and Chonda).

    • mswd says:

      Thanks Colleen…behind as usual, in my reading, but looking forward to catching up on your blog! Hoping you are enjoying the holiday weekend!

  2. Wilma says:

    That was a beautiful blog post!! I too have found that Chonda’s comedy is good medicine for whatever ails you! Thank you for sharing your evening with us!

    • mswd says:

      Wilma ~ thank you for your lovely message, so nice to hear from you! We had a wonderful time…even Dad! 😉 I highly recommend Chonda and Tim Hawkins…you are right, they will help whatever ails you! Sending love and blessings! XO

  3. Jean says:

    I have heard Chonda in bits and pieces, but now I am sure to be a fan. Great uplifting piece of writin’ thar is right thar Marsha!

    • mswd says:

      Jean ~ you are just too funny! We have all the CDs and DVDs if you ever want to borrow them. I laugh myself silly when I listen to her! Love and miss you sweetie! XO

  4. Melissa Veldhuizen says:

    Amazing story.I had a chance to chill with chonda also.she has done alot for me without even noticing. She was so kind and gave my mom and I a lift to my hotel when my car broke down.what a kind heart.I’ll never forget that tour bus, her laugh, her touch.she was amazing:)

    • mswd says:

      Thank you for sharing your story…I think it is amazing how many lives we touch without even knowing it. Chonda has a powerful presence and we are so blessed she shares it with us ~ I hope she continues to do so for many more years cause she is one of a kind! Thank you again for your message!

Leave a Reply

