He Got a Job!

One day shy of a year from the day he was downsized, my husband walked through the doors of his new place of employment. I don’t think there was another person alive who was feeling happier or more blessed to have a job when he woke up that morning. After sending out more than 1,000 résumés, contacting 100-plus friends, previous co-workers and family members, joining Résumé Rabbit, LinkedIn, Snagajob.com, CareerBuilder.com and a dozen other job referral web sites his time had arrived.

It was almost surreal the telephone call from the Human Resources Manager. It was a Thursday afternoon and my husband had taken me to a doctor’s appointment and then we were running a few errands. He received the call and following a few preliminary questions he was asked to come in for an interview. We had gone through this before and had learned to not get too excited. However, he prepared for the interview and several days later, looking professional and handsome, left the house feeling upbeat, educated about the company and polished on his interviewing techniques.

Several hours later he called me letting me know he thought the interview went well and he should hear something before the end of the week. He came home, typed his thank you emails and for the next several days the job quest and life continued. We had gotten used to waiting for the telephone to ring and sadly it never did. Job hunting these days is difficult and my heart goes out to those who are searching.

However, several days later, the telephone DID ring…a bit earlier than usual. We both looked at each other as if we knew. My husband answered the call and as if time stood still for a few seconds, he was told he was being offered the position pending a background check and drug test. When he was done with the call, we were motionless. Most would think we would have jumped for joy, screamed with delight, watched the weight being lifted off our shoulders…no, at that moment, we paused and prayed.

We thanked God for helping us survive the year without a job, for the lessons we learned, for strengthening our relationship and for having money in savings and, for the job my husband was just offered. We felt God’s presence and have always known we were working on God’s timeline — not ours. And, while we knew we had to be patient during the past year, it was frustrating as well as a test of our faith. However, we have been through a lot in the last seven years ~ a spinal cord injury, Dr. Liar, medical malpractice, MRSA, depression, the list goes on and on, but knew we would manage this setback as well.

During the next few days we decided not to share the news until all details were completed and fully ironed out. We also wanted to privately thank many people in person who had assisted with my husband’s job search and even given verbal and written letters of recommendations. In fact, there are two very special people who we will never be able to repay. They know who they are and we will forever be grateful. They hold a special place in our heart.

My husband worked his first full week and is now settling in with his new routine. He is back to being his happy confident self, talking about the company, the people he works with and the new things he is learning. I am so proud of him. It wasn’t easy watching him be unemployed for a year; however, in my husband’s style…he didn’t complain. He kept plugging along and his hard work finally paid off. However, I know he is less stressed and is enjoying his new position. A few days ago, I heard him laughed, which is nothing unusual — he laughs all the time. However, it wasn’t his every day, average laugh. It was his ‘I am so glad I have a job’ laugh. I paused and was thankful to once again have the pieces of our life back together. And, while none of us know how long the pieces will stay together, I have learned to celebrate life’s little moments. In fact, I have learned how to take the little moments and make them into BIG moments!

©My Unplanned Life and http://www.shakinguplife.wordpress.com. 2012.

About mswd

I am an individual living with a spinal cord injury. How the injury occurred, how I found out how severe my injury was and how my planned life suddenly became 'unplanned' is included in this blog. Also included is how the injury has tested my family and me. I believe you will discover it has been both a mentally and physically challenging ordeal and I learned a few lessons along the way. While I am still defining my life’s purpose since the injury, I have uncovered those who are injured, live with pain or have other obstacles to navigate are never able to escape. However, come with me as I explore ways to improve my life, learn to live with multiple neurological conditions, educate others and look for the silver lining. I believe with a little willpower, my caring family and God's guidance I will learn to forgive, hopefully forget how I was treated and dismissed by a doctor and uncover life's new purpose. I pray for painfree days and answers to questions that keep swirling through my mind. I also pray for a cure for neurological conditions and for the doctors to treat their patients with respect. Welcome to my journey. I would love to hear about yours!
This entry was posted in Being Thankful, Depression, Disability, Don't Give Up, Dr. Liar, Faith, God, Joy, Self Discovery, Spinal Cord Injury, Unemployment and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to He Got a Job!

  1. cmusic05 says:

    Congratulations to both of you! So happy your husband found a job. I wondered if he had found employment yet. The Lord answers prayers, but in his time, not ours. Glad things are looking up for you. Keep us posted, will add you in my prayers. God bless both of you.

    Velma Anderson vande3474@aol.com

    • mswd says:

      Velma ~ thank you so much, it’s so nice to hear from you! It has definitely been an interesting year, but we are thrilled and feel so blessed he found a job. And, yes, we have learned patience and have known God had a certain timeline…His! We had a few bumps along the way and if Harry had been working it could have been tricky or stressful. What was supposed to happened did and as I mentioned in another comment…we are definitely counting out blessings! Thank you for your comment and for your continued prayers! XO

  2. Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I know too many people going through this. Your post was hopeful and remindful (it’s a word now!) of where to get one’s strength.

    • mswd says:

      Thank you so much Colleen — that which doesn’t kill us makes us stronger! No matter where we would go or who we would talk with there was and is one sad story after another. We will never forget this time in our lives and how we grew, what we learned and more importantly how blessed we are that he got a job! Counting our blessings! Thank you for your message and for your wonderful posts…loving them all! 🙂

  3. How wonderful for Harry. The loss of a job effects everyone in the household as the struggle to find a new career does as well. I hope he is happy in his new position.

    • mswd says:

      Mary, thank you your message and for contining to read the blog. It has been an interesting year looking for a job, but we learned a lot and so thankful things worked out the way they did. Hoping you are enjoying your career…love reading the updates on Facebook!

  4. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    This is wonderful, just wonderful. I am glad for you, very much. Congrats to your husband. To be out of work is really, really difficult…

    • mswd says:

      Thank you so much for your nice comment. Yes, it has been a tough year; however, we made it and learned so much along the way. One of my favorite quotes…”That which doesn’t kill us makes us stronger!” So true! Thank you again! XO

  5. Beverly says:

    I don’t check your blog as often as I should, but I was so glad when I read this today. Congratulations to you both. I hope the new job is still doing well. I agree with the bit about being in God’s hands — my dh has been without work before and it is so difficult to be patient and to keep trying. I’m very happy for you and also giving a little prayer of thanks.

    • mswd says:

      Beverly ~ thank you again for your message. I hope you received my email and understand the reason for my delay in responding. YES…the job search has ended and I have my husband back again! 🙂 He is extremely happy and we are definitely counting our blessings! I appreciate your kind words, prayers as well as the advice and assistance! Hoping all is well and again, thank you for the link ~ I owe you! XO

Leave a Reply

