These are the Days I Will Remember!

I must first extend a special thank you to those who reached out following my last post regarding my surgery. Your prayers, comments, telephone calls, Facebook messages, etc. were so helpful in my recovery and I can’t thank you enough for your thoughtfulness. I am happy to report I had my follow-up appointment with the surgeon yesterday, had the staples removed and was told I am going to be fine. Those are words I am not used to hearing from a doctor and I had to let it sink in — I honestly don’t think I will ever forget how wonderful I felt at that moment.

Prior to surgery I was able to manage my Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) thanks to an extremely supportive anesthesiologist (Dr. K.) and pre-op nurse. In addition, I was mentally prepared and had some biofeedback techniques in place to assist in managing my racing thoughts about Dr. Liar and ‘that day.’ However, the hospital also didn’t delay the procedure — no fussing around — and before I knew it I was in the Operating Room being told step-by-step what they were doing and who was doing it.  The very kind Dr. K. asked if I was ready for my nap and said “we are going to take good care of you”. When I woke up I was in the Recovery Room and yes, as I had hoped, I was running through the list of people who helped get me through my greatest fear. I honestly don’t think I will ever forget how wonderful I felt at that moment. I was in the Recovery Room, in a fair amount of pain, but I was grateful to so many, happy the surgery was over and proud of myself for mentally preparing ahead of time.

In addition to seeing the surgeon, I also had an appointment with my Ear Nose and Throat doctor who I have been seeing every other week for the past year.  The doctor, whose office is about an hour and a half away from our home, has been treating me for a rather unique problem with my sinuses. I have written about Dr. H. before and how he isn’t afraid to push the envelope when it comes to treating his patients. Dr. H. is a Christian, wears a Cross on his crisp white doctor’s coat and will openly discuss his faith with anyone. He walks and talks the life of a Christian. My husband and I bonded with Dr. H. immediately and I am so blessed we were sent to him.  Yesterday, following a year’s worth of a rather painful procedure every other Monday afternoon, Dr. H. stated he is 99 percent sure my sinuses are healed. I see him again in six weeks for confirmation of 100 percent; however, the smile on his face said it all and it made me want to cry tears of joy. Good news from another doctor…something I am not used to hearing. Could I be hearing two pieces of good news from two doctors in one day? I honestly don’t think I will ever forget how wonderful I felt at that moment.

Since I was seeing Dr. H. every other Monday I was using his office scales to keep an eye on my weight. I was diagnosed as a diabetic as well as with Cushing’s Disease due to all the steroids doctors prescribed in the past, I have been working hard to manage my blood sugar and my pain level without steroid injections. I was dreading weighing in yesterday since I had been unable to exercise or attend my physical therapy following surgery. However, I honestly don’t think I will ever forget how wonderful I felt at the moment, when I calculated I had lost a total of 65 pounds since I began my weight lost quest. While I still have more weight to lose it sure feels good to have dropped three sizes and know I can actually make it happen without surgery, pills, programs or silly gimmicks. For me it’s a lifestyle change, meal planning, a very caring endocrinologist who really listened to my past history and my wonderful husband.

Lastly, while in the waiting room for my appointment with Dr. H. I logged on to My Unplanned Life via my Smartphone to do a quick check for messages or to see if there was any activity. I honestly was feeling a bit guilty for not posting since my surgery. Sadly there were no messages; however, there certainly had been some activity — my small, simple blog had surpassed 50,000 hits! What a gift I had been given while I was feeling guilty for not keeping the blog updated. Sitting in that huge waiting room I honestly don’t think I will ever forget how wonderful I felt at the moment.  Thank you to all who had been keeping the blog active even though I hadn’t! I am truly honored the words I write are of interest to anyone, but more importantly I am honored the blog has helped others. Blogging is certainly a unique way of writing or communicating — you never know who is reading, whose life you may change or alter, but when you hear from someone you have helped it makes all the difference in the world. While some see them as only words on a page, to me these words are my life and I thank you for sharing in my journey.

As I sat to write this post on a beautiful day, I do what I always do…make a music selection to listen to while writing. Keith Urban’s CD was already in the CD player and the song ‘These Are The Days’ began playing. I thought it appropriate to end this post with the words from the song, which I believe you will understand why:

“My grandma was a wise old soul
Took me by the hand not long ago
Said, “Son, what’s your hurry, boy slow it down
Taste the wild honey, listen to the sound
Of the wind that’s blowin’ through the trees
Rivers flowin’ to the sea
Yeah they’re all headin’ home just like you and me
Life’s for livin’ child, can’t you see?”

These are the days we will remember
These are the times that won’t come again
The highest of flames becomes an ember
And you gotta live ’em while you can

These are the days we will remember
So take ’em by the hand, they’re yours and mine
Take ’em by the hand and live your life
Take ’em by the hand don’t let ’em all fly by”


©My Unplanned Life and www.shakinguplife.wordpress.com. 2012.

 

About mswd

I am an individual living with a spinal cord injury. How the injury occurred, how I found out how severe my injury was and how my planned life suddenly became 'unplanned' is included in this blog. Also included is how the injury has tested my family and me. I believe you will discover it has been both a mentally and physically challenging ordeal and I learned a few lessons along the way. While I am still defining my life’s purpose since the injury, I have uncovered those who are injured, live with pain or have other obstacles to navigate are never able to escape. However, come with me as I explore ways to improve my life, learn to live with multiple neurological conditions, educate others and look for the silver lining. I believe with a little willpower, my caring family and God's guidance I will learn to forgive, hopefully forget how I was treated and dismissed by a doctor and uncover life's new purpose. I pray for painfree days and answers to questions that keep swirling through my mind. I also pray for a cure for neurological conditions and for the doctors to treat their patients with respect. Welcome to my journey. I would love to hear about yours!
This entry was posted in Being Thankful, Dr. Liar, Endocrinologist, Faith, Finding the joy, God, Gratitude, Happiness, Joy, physical therapy, PTSD, Spinal Cord Injury, Surgery, These are the Days I Will Remember!, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to These are the Days I Will Remember!

  1. Beth says:

    Beautiful, Marsha!! I am so happy for your good news 🙂

    • mswd says:

      Now I just need to figure out a way to get rid of my neck pain and I will be a new person! However, not having to deal with these other issues is a dream come true! Thank you for your support and for commenting…it means the world! Hugs my squirrel friend!

  2. Chatter Master says:

    Great moments for you!!!! I’m so happy for you! 🙂

    • mswd says:

      Thank you so much…what a change! I am pinching myself to make sure I am not dreaming! 🙂

      • Chatter Master says:

        What a wonderful day. These doctor’s have done more than they can fully appreciate, haven’t they? 🙂

      • mswd says:

        Definitely…and I am in the process of working on some feedback to the head of the hospitals so they are recognized appropriately…credit where credit is due I say! I am feeling very blessed!

      • Chatter Master says:

        And I am feeling very happy and relieved for you!

  3. sheila says:

    I am glad to hear that your life is changing for the positive, keep moving in that path. Live is full of joy and worth living.

    • mswd says:

      Sheila — thank you so much for your kind words. It has been a difficult few years and there were times I lost my way…it sure feels good to have reasons to celebrate for a change! Thank you again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

