Is a Picture Worth a Thousand Words?

I recently saw a photograph of Dr. Liar, the lying neurosurgeon who slammed a mallet into my spinal cord causing permanent damage during what should have been a routine Cervical Discectomy and Fusion surgery. This photograph is the first I have seen of ‘him’ since we parted ways on the steps of the court-house as he hugged the jury foreperson as they both were leaving. That was the last time I saw ‘him’ in person following the trial that should have found him guilty of Medical Malpractice. The Dr. Liar who operated on me and who lied and testified in court was a youngish, thin, handsome man who thought he had the world on a string. However, in this recent photo, which I viewed with my own eyes, he’s not as young, as thin, as handsome, looks as if he’s been and is under stress. And, in fact, he looks sad, mad, a bit depressed and beaten down.

Now, this is the part where I have to be completely honest. When I saw the photograph I almost didn’t recognize him. After I scraped myself off the floor, I have to admit I was somewhat happy the years have not been kind. I felt joyous for about 30 minutes and then guilt for feeling happy at his misfortune. What does that tell you about me?  Yep, it’s a good thing I am seeing a shrink on a regular basis! Or, am I only human? After all, for those of you who have followed My Unplanned Life from the beginning, this man changed my life from the moment I first met him — lying about his board certification status– to how many surgeries he had performed. Don’t I have a right to feel happy?

I, too, have changed during the years following the trial. But first, I must write about an experience that occurred during a recent session with my shrink, the very educated man he is. During a weekly session, he mistakenly thought I was 11 years younger than I am.  When I told him my correct age, his exact words were, “you are holding up quite nicely!” What a boast for my ego! However, with all seriousness, since Dr. Liar injured my spinal cord, I gained a considerable amount of weight due to all the steroids and other medications. I had Cushing’s Syndrome and it took a long time to diagnose. In fact, there were days when I didn’t recognize myself. In addition, I have lost weight, changed my hair style and, yes, color, as well as fought depression and continue to deal with numerous neurological problems. But, in the end, if Dr. Liar were to see my photograph, he would most likely have a different reaction than the one I had when I saw his. He would probably think I am a calmer, less stressed person, but one who now walks with a cane and suffers from some type of muscle and spinal problem. If he was being completely honest, he would most likely say, “she is holding up quite nicely”– all things considered.

You hear people talk about karma and ‘what goes around comes around.’ Since my surgery I have been told thousands of times “Dr. Liar will get what he is due.” Or, that when it comes to being punished “he will be judged by the one who truly matters.” And, while I knew all of this in my head, it was my heart that was the disconnect. In fact, the shrink and I just discussed this topic. However, when I saw the recent photograph of Dr. Liar, I knew ‘something’ must have caught up to him. After all, he was the one who lied for several years to me, my husband, to the hospital, in court and perjured himself because he was worried about his career instead of doing the right thing — telling the truth.

When I hear about karma, I often think of the Kennedy family and the Kennedy Curse. Just last week the media was buzzing about the suicide of Mary Richardson Kennedy, the latest tragedy in a family that for years has been plagued with unfortunate events.

Those who have studied the Kennedy family know there are several theories regarding the origin of the “curse.” One story involves Joseph Kennedy and his male offspring’s being damned by a Rabbi; another involves a Jewish refugee asking for assistance in getting his sons out of Europe and when Joseph Kennedy ignored him the refugee then placed a curse that involved Kennedy’s sons facing the same fate that the refugee’s sons did.  Another similar story claims that Joseph Kennedy sold weapons to Nazi Germany. Because of this, a Jewish town found out and all the towns people prayed for a curse on his family.

Whatever the story, the fate remains the same — the family seems to have a dark cloud looming over it. One might think if Joseph Kennedy had made different choices or conducted himself in a different manner would he had protected his family?

Those of you who know me personally or who have been following the blog know I have relied on my faith to help me adjust to the changes in my life since my injury. Many people have often referred to several Bible verses as a way of helping me find comfort or justify the actions of Dr. Liar. A dear friend in Pennsylvania often said following my injury…”the sins of the father will play out on the children.”

While I had heard the verse and understood its meaning, I didn’t know the chapter or understand the context. I recently took some time to study the verse and according to the Kings James Version (KJV) of the Bible, sin may be passed down from parents to children and then to their children. While there is much debate and many interpretations of this verse, there are many examples of sin being passed down to children in the Bible. Abraham passed down the sin of lying to Isaac, who passed it on to his deceiving son Jacob. A study of the kings of Israel and Judah shows how one king after another was influenced by his father’s sin. According to Exodus 20.5,”it is God who punishes the children for the sin of the fathers. Therefore, a man reaps what he sows. If you sow good things in your life, you and your family will reap the benefit. If you sow sin in your life, you and your family will reap the consequences.”

While I know a picture/photograph can be deceiving, I do believe Dr. Liar’s lies are catching up with him…even eight years later from when he made a horrible mistake in the operating room and then worked so hard to cover it up. The man in the photograph was not the same one who thought he had the world on a string. While I want to feel happy…all I truly feel is sadness. Have I forgiven him for the mistake he made? No, not yet. It’s still a daily struggle. However, with the help of God, friends, family, the shrink, a few very caring doctors and a physical therapist maybe I am the one slowly grabbing hold of that string. However, the world and the string have changed and so have my priorities…thankfully!

Source: The Kennedy Curse: Why Tragedy Has Haunted America’s First Family for 150 Years, Edward Klein

©My Unplanned Life and www.shakinguplife.wordpress.com. 2012.

About mswd

I am an individual living with a spinal cord injury. How the injury occurred, how I found out how severe my injury was and how my planned life suddenly became 'unplanned' is included in this blog. Also included is how the injury has tested my family and me. I believe you will discover it has been both a mentally and physically challenging ordeal and I learned a few lessons along the way. While I am still defining my life’s purpose since the injury, I have uncovered those who are injured, live with pain or have other obstacles to navigate are never able to escape. However, come with me as I explore ways to improve my life, learn to live with multiple neurological conditions, educate others and look for the silver lining. I believe with a little willpower, my caring family and God's guidance I will learn to forgive, hopefully forget how I was treated and dismissed by a doctor and uncover life's new purpose. I pray for painfree days and answers to questions that keep swirling through my mind. I also pray for a cure for neurological conditions and for the doctors to treat their patients with respect. Welcome to my journey. I would love to hear about yours!
This entry was posted in Court, Depression, Dr. Liar, Faith, Forgiveness, God, Hurt but not Broken, Medical Malpractice, Self Discovery, Spinal Cord Injury and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is a Picture Worth a Thousand Words?

  1. Beth says:

    Beautiful, Marsha! My prayers continue to be with you.

  2. mswd says:

    Thank you so much for your message and especially for your prayers. I know you are going through back problems yourself…dealing with pain on a regular basis. Please let me know if there is anything I can do, questions I can answer, etc. You are in my prayers as well. Sending love and blessings! XO

Leave a Reply

