Overcoming Technology ~ That’s my Mom!

I am proud of my Mom for many reasons, but for purposes of this post I am concentrating on one — technology. While in her 70’s, she embraced technology and won. She learned how to use a desktop computer with all the bells and whistles, a laptop, and has now conquered an iPad. She even signed up for a Facebook account, although she hasn’t jumped in and made the commitment by adding friends or sending out status updates. She e-mails, shops, plays mind stimulating games, surfs the web, researches topics of interest, took an extensive online course and faithfully reads her daughter’s blog even after living every detail of the spinal cord injury and hearing about Dr. Liar over and over again. In fact, I believe she is one of the first to read each post once it hits the blogosphere. She even prints a copy for my technologically challenged Dad to read, who keeps a copy of each post by his recliner (since this is post 76, I should probably invest in a nice binder for his collection).

Mom and I regularly send each other e-mails regarding recipes, political humor, shopping suggestions and inspiration messages. In fact, a few days ago Mom sent me the following e-mail entitled ‘Layman’s 10 Commandments’ and when I read it, I knew I wanted to share it with the readers of My Unplanned Life. I think Mom would be proud if I could follow these commandments on a daily basis and into my 70’s. I hope as technology continues to advance I will have the ability and willingness, like Mom, to master new things, keep my mind active, and be brave enough to explore following her example. Thank you Mom…you inspire me and have been a great teacher!

Layman’s 10 Commandments:

1. Prayer is not a “spare wheel” you pull out when in trouble, but more like  a “steering wheel” directing the right path throughout.

2. Why is a car’s windshield so large and the rear view mirror so small? Because our PAST is not as important as our FUTURE. So, look ahead and move on.

3. Friendship is like a BOOK. It takes few seconds to burn, but it takes years to write.

4. All things in life are temporary. If going well, enjoy it, they will not last forever. If going wrong, don’t worry, they can’t last long either.

5. Old Friends are Gold! New Friends are Diamond! If you get a Diamond, don’t forget the Gold! Because to hold a Diamond, you always need a Base of Gold!

6. Often when we lose hope and think this is the end, GOD smiles from above and says, “Relax, sweetheart, it’s just a bend, not the end!

7. When God solves your problems, you have faith in HIS abilities; when GOD doesn’t solve your problems HE has faith in your abilities.

8. A blind person asked St. Anthony: “Can there be anything worse than losing eye sight?” He replied: “Yes, losing your vision!”

9. When you pray for others, God listens to you and blesses them, and sometimes, when you are safe and happy, remember that someone has prayed for you.

10. WORRYING does not take away tomorrow’s TROUBLES, it takes away today’s PEACE.

©My Unplanned Life and www.shakinguplife.wordpress.com. 2012.

 

About mswd

I am an individual living with a spinal cord injury. How the injury occurred, how I found out how severe my injury was and how my planned life suddenly became 'unplanned' is included in this blog. Also included is how the injury has tested my family and me. I believe you will discover it has been both a mentally and physically challenging ordeal and I learned a few lessons along the way. While I am still defining my life’s purpose since the injury, I have uncovered those who are injured, live with pain or have other obstacles to navigate are never able to escape. However, come with me as I explore ways to improve my life, learn to live with multiple neurological conditions, educate others and look for the silver lining. I believe with a little willpower, my caring family and God's guidance I will learn to forgive, hopefully forget how I was treated and dismissed by a doctor and uncover life's new purpose. I pray for painfree days and answers to questions that keep swirling through my mind. I also pray for a cure for neurological conditions and for the doctors to treat their patients with respect. Welcome to my journey. I would love to hear about yours!
This entry was posted in Being Thankful, Dr. Liar, God, Happiness, Joy, Spinal Cord Injury and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Overcoming Technology ~ That’s my Mom!

  1. Chatter Master says:

    Thank you for an always needed reminder.

  2. Reba Nelson says:

    Marsha, you mother has always been a class act. You are blessed to have her as a mother and she is blessed to have you as a daughter. I remember Mamma telling me that when your mother was just about 5 years old she sent her to get two chickens from someone in the neighborhood and she completed the task. Not every 5 year old can walk 1/2 mile carrying 2 live chickens but your mother did! She was never easily daunted by anything. Kinda reminds me of her daughter!

  3. mswd says:

    Aunt Reba ~ I am unable to type a reply because of the tears! That is such a sweet message! I can see Mom with the chickens now! Your story, in addition to the one Harry wrote about for his college class, are classics. He had to interview people about how the area has changed so he talked to Lois, Aunt Carolyn and Mom. During one discussion, Aunt Carolyn told about Mom having to return home from school since she wasn’t old enough to attend first grade since her birthday was past the August cut off date. Poor Mom…she walked to school with all the sisters and then had to walk home alone and wait another year to attend school. It must have been a several mile trek!

    You are right…she had to be tough then and I am thankful she was. However, I don’t think I am as tough as she was and continues to be…I can’t even cut up chicken. I am a white meat, breast kind of girl. Granny could never get me in the kitchen when it was time to take care of the chicken. :)However, somewhere along the way I did learn “that which doesn’t kill us makes us stronger.” And, I know that lesson I learned from Granny, all my aunts and Mom. So, thank you for the lessons and the reminder! I love you!

Leave a Reply

