Talking in Your Sleep

Below is a poem written a few months ago by my husband following one of my recent hospital stays. I seem to get so caught up in how I am feeling I forget he is experiencing his own difficulties in dealing with our lives since my spinal cord injury. The key has been for us to face the challenges together. However, every now and then, we both have turned to writing as an outlet to express how we are feeling. This is his most recent.

It’s been six years since that horrible day
For you it seems like more
Not everyday has been so bad
But life shouldn’t be a chore!

Three years before, when we first met
You really seemed so tough
Thank God for that it helps you through
But will that be enough?

It’s hard to watch what you go through
And watch how much you pay
You do things at night while I’m asleep
And sleep away your days.

While I’m working I can hear you
Just lying there in bed
The sounds you make while sleeping
sometimes it spins my head.

I’d like to think the things you say
while talking in your sleep
are things to help me understand
what happened by that creep!

But on that rare occasion
I hear a strange loud noise
I have to do a double take
It sounds a lot like joy!

Maybe your thinking back
to our earlier days and nights
When we used to go for long walks
And everything seemed so right.

I wish I could be the one with pain
 and let you live pain-free
That would be my gift to you
Would someone grant that for me?

I’m sure I couldn’t handle it
There’s no way for me to see
I’d do it without gladly just for her
Please, just let her be!

I try to keep so positive
for you and also me
We still have each others love
Maybe that’s all we really need!

To me, I have a Higher hope
At some future time and place
That God will step in and give some help
It’s all within His grace!

©My Unplanned Life and www.shakinguplife.wordpress.com 2011.

About mswd

I am an individual living with a spinal cord injury. How the injury occurred, how I found out how severe my injury was and how my planned life suddenly became 'unplanned' is included in this blog. Also included is how the injury has tested my family and me. I believe you will discover it has been both a mentally and physically challenging ordeal and I learned a few lessons along the way. While I am still defining my life’s purpose since the injury, I have uncovered those who are injured, live with pain or have other obstacles to navigate are never able to escape. However, come with me as I explore ways to improve my life, learn to live with multiple neurological conditions, educate others and look for the silver lining. I believe with a little willpower, my caring family and God's guidance I will learn to forgive, hopefully forget how I was treated and dismissed by a doctor and uncover life's new purpose. I pray for painfree days and answers to questions that keep swirling through my mind. I also pray for a cure for neurological conditions and for the doctors to treat their patients with respect. Welcome to my journey. I would love to hear about yours!
This entry was posted in Depression, Disability, Disappointment, Dr. Liar, Faith, God, Pain, Self Discovery, Spinal Cord Injury, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Talking in Your Sleep

  1. Pam says:

    You are so very lucky to have a terrific partner in life!

    • mswd says:

      Pam ~ thank you so much. Yes I am very lucky. God knew what he was doing when he had us meet many years ago. I hope that everyone is able to find a partner who will be there for them during the most difficult times. It is during those times when we truly uncover what true love is. Hoping that you are doing well and are happy. I enjoy reading your FB updates and seeing that nice smile! Keep posting!

  2. Bill says:

    God bless you both and give you both the strength you need daily!

    • mswd says:

      Bill ~ I so appreciate your message! We are blessed in so many ways, including meeting you at the Phillies-Nationals game! God works in mysterious ways by crossing our paths and the funny part is that the Phillies were involved 🙂 It is meeting people like you and adding to our list of friends that helps during the difficult days. Your photos and messages have brightened up many days and I so appreciate it! Thank you for your friendship and for your prayers. God bless you and your family!

  3. Reba Nelson says:

    Beautiful. A treasure of love. Justice is in short supply in this world. Justice was a constant theme of the Old Testament prophets. At a church I used to attend there were two little girls, about three years old, who were fast friends. One was fair skinned and blonde, the other tan with curly brown hair. It was obvious that both came from families well supplied with love. One Sunday I watched them sitting together and I was blown away when I realized the parable of their friendship: their names were Calvary and Justice. What a wonder – Clavary and Justice are fast friends. Both are beautiful, Both are love. Grace has provided for fast friendship between the justice demanded by God and the sacrifice of Jesus Christ on the cross. Thank God, Calvary and Justice are fast friends, never to be parted. “but unto you that fear my name shall the Sun of righteousness arise with healing in his wings…” Malachi 4:2

    • mswd says:

      Reba — this is such a special message. Thank you so much for sharing it with me and with others who will read it as part of the blog. And, yes, Harry’s post is a true treasure of love and I am so blessed that God loved both of us enough to bring us together. I am also lucky to have such a wonderful extended family and treasure every moment we all spend together — time with my husband, daughter, brothers, sisters in law, AUNTS, uncles, cousins — it’s just a little bit of Heaven on Earth. Without the love of God and my family my healing would have been slower and my faith a little less strong. I thank you for all that you have taught me and for continuing to guide me with your faith and lessons. Love you! XO

Leave a Reply

