Living Life with No Regrets

Writing a blog can be a unique way of uncovering who is interested and reading your posts and who isn’t. Since I first began writing My Unplanned Life in February, I have discovered that there are three groups of readers and non-readers.

First, there are those who tell you they are reading the blog, but are the first to ask questions that are addressed in the weekly posts. The second group are comprised of those who want to read and have every intention, but don’t have the time. And, lastly, the final group, are the ones who read each posting. They remember the details and have even reached out to share an insight, story or something that has been helpful during their unplanned life. Many have even shared the blog with others. To all three groups, whether you find the time or not, the blog is written for those who are meant to read it.  And to those, I love hearing from you. If you have questions or need additional information, please feel free to leave a message or leave your email address. I respond to all messages.

The reason I chose WordPress as the forum for my blog was its ability to research and to break down the numbers. As a writer, I hate numbers and would rather get lost in words instead of spreadsheets or Excel documents. WordPress tracks search engines used, words that were searched, which email provider users used, (sorry for the poor USE of grammar) as well as, many other unique ways of slicing up the data.  As I am writing this post, more than 15,900 have read the blog since its inception, there have been 155 hits today, with Google being the most used search engine. On July 10, 226 of you read posts on the blog; however, April 13 was the busiest day with 332 hits with most of you reading Judge, Jury and the Jerk. There are a lot of people seeking information about Social Security, private disability and for ways to either accept their lives as they are or press their restart button.

What surprises me more than anything about the readers (or non readers) are that some of my closest friends and family members are the ones who don’t have the time to read the blog. I know and completely understand that people work and live busy lives, but I believe I would be nosey enough to want to know what my blogging friend or family member had to say. Again, I pose the question, have our lives gotten so busy that we can’t take the time to support an effort done by a person you care about?  Would we rather spend our time working, at the beach or a bar, watching television, or reading updates on Facebook or playing video games? Have ‘things’ taken over true human compassion?

Speaking of compassion, I so appreciate all the thoughts and prayers regarding my last post and my stay in the I.C.U. While I can honestly state that being in the hospital is at the top of the list of things I hate to do, I have to admit that my most recent hospital stay was far different from the one six years ago. While thinking further, I determined that it wasn’t the location, accommodations, other patients, the food, or any of the other surroundings — the difference was something very simple.  Something that took me a while to realize.

The difference between the two hospital stays was one thing — I was treated with respect. I was a patient, but I was also a human being. Instead of a doctor who lied — my doctors were honest and upfront. The nurses were kind-hearted and didn’t try to avoid me. And, when I asked questions, they were answered instead of avoided. The doctors didn’t leave for vacation — they checked in during the morning and again in the evening. They asked questions and waited for the answers. All this even knowing that I had carried out a medical malpractice case in another state. Lesser doctors could have walked away. However, they didn’t and to me they are better doctors because of it. When they talked about shocking my heart as a last resort…the doctors explained the details and the consequences. When I asked the cardiologist if he was board certified — he told me the date he received his certification along with additional details ~ much more information than I had expected.

Could it be the difference between a large city hospital and a small country one?  Or because one is in the North, the other in the South?  I don’t think so. I believe it boils down to people and how those people treat their patients.  Because I was treated with respect and the doctors worked together with my spinal cord injury doctors, I felt I was in capable hands and that everyone knew the medical plan going forward.  Peace of mind can do wonders for the soul as well as for making you relax and feel comfortable with your prognosis.

Once you are diagnosed with a ‘heart condition,’ there seems to be a level of concern that doesn’t exist with other medical problems. When I came home from the hospital, my husband wouldn’t let me lift a finger.  While I am the first to admit that I am spoiled, he wouldn’t let me do anything until my body was used to the new heart medication.  I didn’t feel like being on the computer or reading so I watched more television than I normally do.  There were a few interviews that I watched with the interviewer asking what advice would the interviewees have given him or herself 10-20 years ago.  I decided to pay attention since for my daughter’s 18th birthday I gave her a ‘book’ that I had written titled ‘Living Life with No Regrets.’  These were all the things I had learned up to that point in my life that I hoped she would read, understand the stories that went with each of the entries, and not make the same mistakes. Therefore, I like to hear what others have to say when asked a question about changing the past.  Most say that they wouldn’t take themselves so seriously or they would try to be happier or they wouldn’t sweat the small stuff. To me, I find that regrets are a waste of time and they end up crippling the present. Living with ‘What if’s’ in your life is such a waste of time. In fact, during most of my life, I have lived with one motto in mind. When faced with making a major decision — a job change, relocation, divorce or break up, disability, etc. I decide one of three things ~  either love it, leave it, or live with it?”  Makes things kind of simple, huh?

©My Unplanned Life and www.shakinguplife.wordpress.com 2011.

About mswd

I am an individual living with a spinal cord injury. How the injury occurred, how I found out how severe my injury was and how my planned life suddenly became 'unplanned' is included in this blog. Also included is how the injury has tested my family and me. I believe you will discover it has been both a mentally and physically challenging ordeal and I learned a few lessons along the way. While I am still defining my life’s purpose since the injury, I have uncovered those who are injured, live with pain or have other obstacles to navigate are never able to escape. However, come with me as I explore ways to improve my life, learn to live with multiple neurological conditions, educate others and look for the silver lining. I believe with a little willpower, my caring family and God's guidance I will learn to forgive, hopefully forget how I was treated and dismissed by a doctor and uncover life's new purpose. I pray for painfree days and answers to questions that keep swirling through my mind. I also pray for a cure for neurological conditions and for the doctors to treat their patients with respect. Welcome to my journey. I would love to hear about yours!
This entry was posted in Atrial Fibrillation and Flutter, Depression, Disability, Don't Give Up, Don't Sweat the Small Stuff, Dr. Liar, Faith, Happiness, Heart Condition, Medical Malpractice, No regrets, Pain Management, Self Discovery, Social Security Disability, Spinal Cord Injury, Surgery, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Living Life with No Regrets

  1. Lori says:

    Marsha, thank you so much for keeping up with your blog in spite of everything you are going through….thoughts, prayers and hugs to you and your family. Lori

    • mswd says:

      Lori ~ thank you for your message. You always know the perfect thing to say! Hoping things are going well in your life and that you are keeping busy and staying cool! Lots of love and hugs! XO

  2. neurovantage says:

    I have a lot of posts to go through!

    • mswd says:

      I know they are long…I think ‘blog’ is another word for keep it short, sweet and to the point; however, I am not known for my ability to keep to things simple! I am enjoying your blog…keep posting!

Leave a Reply

